Indianapolis 8-Hour Qualifying Advances Top Ten to Pole Shootout

Indianapolis 8-Hour Qualifying Advances Top Ten to Pole Shootout

Mercedes-AMG Team Craft-Bamboo Advance, Fasest in IGTC
RS1 Join Pole Shootout as Leader in FGTWC
Huber Motorsports Leads Three PRO-AM Entries Advancing
Qualifying Results

Qualifying for the Intercontinental GT World Challenge and Fanatec GT World Challenge America powered AWS took place with each of the three drivers taking a turn in their respective race cars. The average of each driver after a 15-minute session gave the entry its qualifying position. The Top Ten will continue on to the Pole Shootout today Oct. 6, at 6:45 p.m.

All four entries for the Intercontinental GT Challenge advance to the Pole Shootout. The No. 77 Mercedes-AMG Team Craft-Bamboo Mercedes-AMG GT3 was the fastest overall. Maximilian Gotz, Raffaele Marciello and Jules Gounon averaged a lap time of 1:23.048 for the honor. The No. 999 Mercedes-AMG Team Gruppe M Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 of Maro Engel, Lucas Stolz and Daniel Juncadella was second fastest overall and in the IGTC PRO Class. The No. 30 Team WRT BMW M4 GT3 of Philipp Eng, Dries Vanthoor and Sheldon Van De Linde advance with sister car No. 31 Team WRT BMW M4 GT3 of Augusto Farfus, Maxime Martin and Charles Weerts. 

A pair of Porsche’s sit atop the list of Fanatec GT World Challenge America powered by AWS teams headed to Superpole. The No. 28 RS1 Porsche 911 GT3 R of Eric Filgueiras, Stevan McAleer and Klaus Bachler topped the FGTWC PRO Class with an average time of 1:23.417. The No. 45 Wright Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R of Madison Snow, Trent Hindman and Jan Heylen followed close behind with a 1:23.596 average time. The No. 94 BimmerWorld BMW M4 GT3 of Chandler Hull, Robbie Foley and Bill Auberlen were the only other FGTWC entry to advance to the Pole Shootout.

PRO-AM Class
Joining the Pole Shootout from the PRO-AM Class is the No. 20 Huber Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R of Antares Au, Alfred Renauer and Laurin Heinrich who averaged a Best Lap of 1:23.636. The No. 38 ST Racing BMW M4 GT3 of Samantha Tan, Neil Verhaegen and Jake Walker were ninth in the Overall Qualifying effort. The No. 535 Sky Tempesta Racing Ferrari 296 GT3 of Jonathan Hui, Christopher Froggatt and Edward Cheever III earned the last entry into the Pole Shootout.  

Let’s Go Racing
The Top Ten entries participate in a Pole Shootout at 6:45 p.m. to finalize the grid. It all comes to a crescendo on Saturday, Oct. 7, for the Indianapolis 8-Hour presented by AWS.  The start of the race is celebrated with a fan walk open to all ticket holders. Joining in the fun will be the Indianapolis Colts Cheerleaders, Blue, the Gordon Pipers, and more. The green flag flies for the endurance classic at 12:15 p.m.