SRO America’s Past and Present Pros Take on the 24h Nürburgring

SRO America’s Past and Present Pros Take on the 24h Nürburgring

A total of 130 cars will be taking on the famous Nordschleife this upcoming weekend for the 52nd edition of the ADAC RAVENOL 24h Nürburgring, racing across the 20.8-kilometre-long track nicknamed the ‘Green Hell.’ Some of SRO America’s very own drivers will be competing in the prestigious endurance event in an attempt to walk away with a victory in one of the most difficult races in the world.  

What Makes the 24h Nürburgring Different

This 24-hour event stands out from other IGTC and SRO endurance races for a number of reasons, largely tied to the demanding and extreme nature of the circuit itself.  

For example, all drivers must complete at least 15 laps but cannot drive for more than three hours consecutively. There is no maximum stint length; instead, stints are determined by fuel amounts, which typically last for up to ten laps. However, there are minimum pitstop times, which differ based on the class, the amount of laps that have completed, and how much time remains in the race.  

GT3 machinery runs in the SP9 class, while the SP10 class features GT4 cars, and there is also the TCR class, which includes one-make classes and categories grouped by engine size.  

There are no safety cars or full course yellow procedures. Instead, waved yellow flags and Code 60 zones manage speeds locally while cars are recovered and barriers are repaired. Consequently, this is one of the few races where time cannot be regained behind a safety car. 

SRO Competitors in Full Force

Mercedes factory driver Philip Ellis will be attempting to tame the mighty Nordschleife in the No. 8 Mercedes-AMG Team GetSpeed Mercedes-AMG GT3. The Swiss driver is no stranger to the Mercedes-AMG GT3 machine, as he presently competes in Fanatec GT World Challenge America in the No. 91 Regulator Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3, and recently earned the team’s first podium result of the season at Sebring International Raceway.  

Jules Gounon is a very familiar name on the entry list, and has accumulated a great deal of success in GT World Challenge Europe and Intercontinental GT Challenge over his many years of competition. He will be piloting the No. 130 Mercedes-AMG Team GetSpeed Mercedes-AMG GT3, accompanied by another alumnus, Maro Engel.  

Dani Juncadella, who was the 2022 Intercontinental GT Challenge and GT World Challenge Europe Endurance Cup champion, will be returning to the Nordschleife in the No. 4 Mercedes-AMG Team BILSTEIN Mercedes-AMG GT3. Meanwhile, fellow GT World Challenge Europe Endurance Cup 2022 champion Raffaele Marciello is a part of the lineup for the No. 98 Rowe Racing BMW M4 GT3, alongside Augusto Farfus and Maxime Martin, who co-drove together in the Indy 8H last October.  

Team WRT also has a rich history of racing drivers that will also be competing in this year’s event, as the previous winners of the 2023 Indianapolis 8 Hour from the No. 30 Team WRT lineup are included on the starting grid, with Sheldon Van der Linde and Dries Vanthoor reuniting once more, this time in the No. 99 Rowe Racing BMW M4 GT3.  

A plethora of previous GT World Challenge America and Indy 8H competitors will be featured on the grid, with the likes of teammates Kevin Estre and Laurens Vanthoor, Charles Weerts, Marco Seefried, Klaus Bachler, Sven Müller, Adam Christodoulou, Dennis Olsen, Maximilian Götz, Luca Stolz, Michele Beretta, and Chandler Hull.  

Finally, Matt Campbell has seen a great deal of success already this season, taking wins at the Rolex 24 at Daytona and the Repco Bathurst 12 Hour, and now the Australian will be competing with the No. 5 Herberth Motorsport Porsche 911 GT3 R.  

How to Watch 

Fans can watch all 24 hours of action live on (geo restrictions may apply).  

A full schedule can be found here.  

Looking Ahead to the Indianapolis 8 Hour

Come see the talented Intercontinental GT Challenge and GT World Challenge America drivers in action at Indianapolis Motor Speedway from October 4th to 6th for the Indy 8 Hour. Fans can witness the world's top drivers battle it out on the legendary track for a chance at glory in the electrifying season finale. 

Tickets can be purchased here