

Indianapolis 8 Hour October 6 – 9th, 2022 Stewards Decision



From: The Stewards Decision No: GT3-12

To: Sun Energy 1 Racing by AKKODIS ASP No. 75 **Date:** Friday, October 7, 2022

Drivers: Habul / Konrad / Baumann Time: 17:00

During 8 Hour Qualifying 1, there was an incident between two cars which caused the session to be stopped, approximately 7 minutes after the start. The session was not resumed.

The Stewards determined that all competitors had an opportunity to participate in Qualifying 1, and directed that times (or lack thereof) be included in the average calculated to establish the grid for Superpole, and for the remainder of the field for the 8 Hour race.

Shortly after the provisional results from Qualifying 1, 2 and 3 were posted, protests were received from the Craft-Bamboo No. 77, the Sun Energy No. 75 and the AF Corse No. 71, alleging a breach of Sporting Article 42.21, and violation of the Race Director's Briefing instructions on IGTC Qualifying procedures.

Article 42.21, paragraph 2, specified that should a qualifying session be cancelled before all driver have had an opportunity to qualify, the results of that session would be disregarded and qualifying times would be established by an average of the other completed sessions. The Race Director's Briefing stated that each qualifying session would be a maximum of 15 minute and, "whenever possible" would include a minimum of 10 minutes of cumulative green flag time.

The Stewards called a hearing with the protesting parties, and heard from all concerned parties including the Race Director.

After considering the matter, the Stewards reject the protests, and direct the grid to be formed based on the results of all Qualifying sessions. They determined that all competitors were given an opportunity to qualify during Qualifying 1.

While the Steward did not uphold the protest, they did determine that the protests were well-founded, and direct the series to return the protest fees to the protestors.

Steward (Chairman

Steward (Chairman)

Robert Davis

Elliot Forbes Robinson

Steward



















